ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENT

In the overall picture, the economy isn’t that bad……no really, it isn’t. Yes I was laid off 18 months ago. Yes I’m still not employed and have only one client of my own, but it is A client. However, the last 18 months has been a very rewarding journey, not as bad as I could have made it, and trust me it was is a struggle to stay positive. Somewhere along this journey I finally accepted the attitude adjustment my dad (and my wife) had so often suggested to me.

There used to be a lot of “theys” in my life.

    They don’t know how to drive.
    They should watch where they are going.
    They don’t know what they are talking about.
    They don’t appreciate how much I do.
    They have way too many items for the 10 or less check-out line……etc.

Now when I feel myself starting to clench the steering wheel in traffic
    I try to be thankful that I have a car to drive.

When I begin to get aggravated because the checkout line is moving slow
    I try to be thankful that I can buy more than just the necessities.

When I begin to get annoyed because the school carpool lane isn’t moving
    I try to be thankful that I have this time to spend with my daughter.

When I start to think the economy is my nemesis
    I try to be thankful that I have the ability to work and have earned a good education.

I try to remember that there is no “they”; to me we are all in this together- the crazy wonderful journey called life.

I’m not sure if this is the specific attitude adjustment my dad spoke of but I do find it much more fulfilling to be thankful. It’s some crazy times out here in architecture land (and the ‘real’ world), but keep on designing and something will happen.

ps. rest assured my sarcasm is still un-adjusted!

** I’ve been careless on properly referencing the image to its source…meaning I haven’t and just used an image search engine. Inform me if I’ve used a copy written image and I’ll do something- perhaps an irish high step dance.

Leave a Reply

