Colorful

Hi, my name is Keith…and…I’m a… a… music junkie (stranger stands up…) Hi Keith, thanks for coming…it’s okay, we all have issues.*

With out music playing I have a hard time working, solving world peace, designing, architecting, explaining physics to Hawking**, drawing, running, biking, etc. I have an eclectic music ‘taste’ and will listen to a variety of differing music. Perhaps a future post as to what types of music facilitates the design process for an architect- FYI, Rage Against the Machine is best when dealing with structural consultants. This post came via a run last week, I concluded (since I did that, it must be true) that The Verve Pipe was singing about architecture. So I give you, an architect’s ode to architecture via Colorful by the aforementioned band:

Lyrics:

The show is over close the story book
There will be no encore
And all the random hands that I have shook
Well they’re reaching for the door
I watch their backs as they leave single file
But you stood stubborn, cheering all the while

I know I can be colorful
I know I can be gray
But I know this loser’s living fortunate
Cause I know, you will love me either way

Most were being good for goodness sake
But you wouldn’t pantomime
You are more beautiful when you awake
Than most are in a lifetime
Through the haze that is my memory well
You stayed for drama though you paid for a comedy and

I know I can be colorful
I know I can be gray
But I know this loser’s living fortunate
Cause I know, you will love me either way

Look ahead as far as you can see…
We’ll live in drama but we’ll die in a comedy and I know I can be colorful (we’re living in color blind)
I know I can be gray (my colors fade away)
And I know this losers living fortunate
Cause I know, you will love me
Yes I know, you will love me
I know, you will love me
Either way

Please… please love me architecture…architecture, are you there?

Design On,

* I found out later that the stranger was Michael Graves.

** To clarify, it’s not difficult explaining physics to Hawking, he just doesn’t get it!

Leave a Reply

