What now T-Shirts? Blog Review

2012 Review

My initial goal at the beginning 2012 for this blog was to become a more semi-consistent blogger Poster- read this post to see why I considered myself a The Poster. Along the way in 2012 there were 47 new posts and 150 images uploaded. In 2011 there were 5 (yes 5) new posts and 26 images uploaded. I think, for what its worth, I might be a blogger now. I’m not sure what that means… Is there a secret handshake?… Do I now have to offer T-Shirts?

The friendly stats helper monkeys at WordPress prepared a 2012 annual report for Architect’s Trace blog. I never paid attention to this stuff so I’m not quite sure how to interpret or what to base against.

Here’s an excerpt from the monkeys report:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. Architect’s Trace blog got about 6,500 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed Architect’s Trace blog, it would have taken 11 years to get that many views.

Considering it would take me 11 years to reach the top of Mt. Everest, those stats don’t seem impressive. However, compared to the 3,900 views of 2011, that’s a 67% increase- that sounds mildly slightly impressive.

A few more monkey provided facts about Architect’s Trace:

Busiest Day was February 16th with 236 views. The most popular post that day was Signs of an Architect. Seems odd that the busiest day was two days after Valentines Day. I guess when love was rejected two days prior, people turned to this blog for some comfort. Perhaps I’m the Chuck Woolery of blogging offering a love connection? In actuality people most likely turned to this blog to mock it and make themselves feel better for being rejected on cupids day.

Visitors came from 105 different countries. Most visitors came from The United States. The United Kingdom & Canada were not far behind. I’d also like to thank the 2 visitors from Sudan, my bank account information is on it’s way!

Top 5 Posts of 2012 were 1)Signs of an Architect, 2)FLW’s Pope-Leighey House, 3)ArchitecTypes- what kind of architect are you?, 4)Feeling Lightheaded- gas fp’s explained, and 5)WWJD and other architectural abbreviations. WTF? Only two of those were posted in 2012. There were some good posts in 2012. Just wait untill 2015 when you read them, you’ll be kicking yourself!

I didn’t get anywhere near done what I wanted to in 2012, but in the ‘big picture’ I’m okay with that. So what now? I started this blog as an attempt to trace my experiences as an architect- how it a/effects me, my design ideologies, the built environ, and all I encounter. Hopefully, others along a similar path, or those just curious about architects/architecture, can benefit from my trace(s). Along the way this blog as become more than me being an architect and architecture. It’s been a vehicle to ‘meet’ others and be part of a larger conversation. It’s been about my trial and tribulations as the best dad ever, trying to be the best husband ever, and well, just being part of the human race.

To my followers, thanks for being part of the journey and if you’re not already following Architect’s Trace, I hope that you do and become part of this Trace!

Cheers and here’s to a great 2013!

 

Design On,

** Click here to see the complete report.

3 comments
  1. You and Jeremiah can thank me for being the person who commented the most. Sheesh are you desperate.

    • I actually thought of mentioning that… but I didn’t want my 3 readers to abandon me for your blog 😉

      • That’s two more than I got!

Leave a Reply

